BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Buying my 1st Jimny. Need Guidance.

• xenogears100
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
07 May 2011 13:28 - 07 May 2011 13:30 #16007 by xenogears100
Buying my 1st Jimny. Need Guidance. was created by xenogears100
Hi, Im planning to purchase my 1st 4x4 and am interested in the Jimny. I've seen one for sale in my country(one of the few on sale) and really like the outside/interior condition of the vehicle. I'm new to 4x4's so I don't really know what to look out for when buying them. I'm used to regular cars but not 4x4's.

I test drove the Jimny and everything seems okay while on 2WD. But when shifting to 4WD High, I didn't see any 4WD light come on on the dash. When shifting to 4WD low, the 4WD light came on but it was flashing. Should the light be on constantly when 4WD is engaged on a Jimny? I didn't really feel anything different while driving the jimny from 2WD to 4WD so I suspect that 4WD didn't engage during my test hence why the light didn't come on on the dash. Am I correct?

I really like the car and am hoping its a cheap fix to sort out the issue with the 4WD not engaging if that indeed is what it happening. I've done some research and have noted others saying its a vacuum pipe issue that keeps the 4WD from engaging. Should I still buy the car and just have the 4WD checked and repaired by a mechanic? How much am I looking to spend for such a repair? I'm not a DIY type of guy...

BTW, its a 2003 model JLX MT.

Please if anyone can help me out with these questions. Thanks.
Last edit: 07 May 2011 13:30 by xenogears100.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• vitara_mad