× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

Jimny loosing power/ not accelerating properly

More
07 Dec 2021 04:18 - 05 Jul 2022 23:29 #240527 by JimnyZh
Newbie here but I have been driving my 2010 Jimny since I have bought it new.

I wouldn't say I religiously maintain it but at least oil change every 15000 km. The plugs were changed 20000km /10000miles ago (a year ago).clutch plates were changed at 90000km but feels ok at current 215000km so I have not had it changed.

Anyway, I have noticed that at around 90km/h (55mph), sometimes it's would not accelerate anymore for say a minute, then all of a sudden it would start to accelerate normally again (on a flat roar that I didn't have problem for years).  And every now and then at 90 plus kph, I could feel the power dipped for a second (as if I let go of the gas pedal for a second) before going back to normal.

I thought it was my clutch again but if it were the case, the RPM would have gone crazy...

Not sure if it is related, the Jimny also started to stall when idle (usually it's at around700rpm, but sometimes it slowly drops to below 500 and stalls), maybe it's related or maybe just the cable stretching over time?

Any suggestions before I take it to a mechanic? I is my experience that if I knew what could be wrong, I would get charged less.

Thx
Update: 6-7-22