BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

A short story and pictures from a newbie.

More
11 Jul 2013 08:36 #76666 by Busta
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Jimny ownership so I thought I'd just give you a little introduction.

I bought a Jimny chiefly as a work vehicle. I have a small business harvesting and selling firewood. I have developed a special trailer that enabled me to do the whole harvesting and delivering operation using any vehicle with a towing hitch. Until recently I'd been borrowing a quad bike for harvesting duties and delivering the wood with my Peugeot 306. But the quadbike struggled to tow the loaded trailer on the soft marshland and I spent more time getting out of holes than I did splitting wood. The 306 handled the trailer great on the road but after several years of abuse was due for replacement.

The appeal of the Jimny lies mainly in it's size and weight. Compact, manoeuvrable and half a ton lighter than a Defender, I realised it would be great on the marshes. And unlike a quadbike it would also be ok for the delivery side of things. So I went on a Jimny hunt!