BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

How to replace rear shocks and what with

• GuardianAngel
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Sep 2012 18:49 #48321 by GuardianAngel
How to replace rear shocks and what with was created by GuardianAngel
I have noticed one of my rear shocks is leaking so I want to replace both the rear ones.

However I have never done it before so is it an easy job? I have seen some generic Youtube vids but wondered if the Jimny is especially difficult?

Do I need any special tools? I am thinking specifically spring compressors.

Finally, I want to fit decent quality ones although not Uber expensive ones and I am not worried about lifting the Jimny in the future. I dont mind spending £40 - £50 per side. Should I also be looking to replace things like bushes/bolts whilst I am at it?

Cheers in advance

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• markyp2000
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Sep 2012 18:50 #48322 by markyp2000
Replied by markyp2000 on topic How to replace rear shocks and what with
search for it in the bar above you will find all you need there

• GuardianAngel
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Sep 2012 18:56 #48325 by GuardianAngel
Replied by GuardianAngel on topic Re: How to replace rear shocks and what with
To be fair I did but couldn't find a definitive guide or advice I needed.

• myers647
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Sep 2012 21:02 #48330 by myers647
Replied by myers647 on topic Re: How to replace rear shocks and what with