BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Grinding Noise After 50mm Lift - Traction Control Activating

More
02 Aug 2022 05:12 - 02 Aug 2022 12:38 #244367 by HachiRocker
Hi all,

I have tried searching but haven't been able to find any answers, and I'm very new to the world of Jimnys so please excuse me if this is a dumb question.

I have a brand new JB74 (with only 50km on the clock).  The car has a 50mm Ironman lift which I installed myself.  When I go around left-hand corners with a bit of speed (50 - 60kph), I get a horrible grinding / rubbing noise and vibration from underneath the car.  It doesn't happen all the time but I seem to be able to induce it by braking lightly or decelerating while turning using engine braking.  This only happens through left-hand turns, not right.  It also does it with and without a passenger on board.

At first, I thought it may have been the ABS activating, but then realised I didn't need to brake to make it happen.  The ABS light also does not illuminate when this happens.  I also thought it could be the prop shaft rubbing against the cross member, however, I have fitted cross member drop brackets and I note that the sound mostly comes when the car is decelerating (ie. when the nose is pitched down and I assume the prop shaft moves away from the cross member).

The problem persists regardless of whether I have the stock wheels and tyres on the car, or my 235/70/R15s (on 15 x 7 rims).

Has anyone experienced anything like this or have any clue about how I could diagnose the issue?

Thanks so much for your help!

Kind regards,
HR
Last edit: 02 Aug 2022 12:38 by HachiRocker.