BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

2006 Jimny Clutch Release Bearing

More
26 Mar 2021 16:09 - 26 Mar 2021 16:11 #234045 by Davemc
Good afternoon. I'm a newbie. We bought a 2006 Jimny last year with 83k on the clock last year. There is a ticking/vibrating noise coming from the clutch when the clutch pedal is out. When it's depressed it disappears. I've had a look through the clutch cable aperture and can see the release bearing rattling and causing the noise. If I adjust the clutch cable to give more slack it rattles more and it's a bit harder to get it into gear - it looks loose like it's not attached to the clutch fork properly. If I tighten it up the slack on the cable, it pulls the bearing near to the clutch pressure plate and makes it a bit quiter but then it still vibrates presumably because it's turning all the time. In theory, the gearbox was reconditioned and a new clutch fitted when we bought the car. The clutch pressure plate does look new but I'm wondering if they've fitted the wrong release bearing or it's not clipped in correctly.
Question is:- should our car M13A car have either or both clips in the attached diagram (6 or 8), I can't see a No.6 clip through the aperture.
Phot also attached hopefully.
Thanks for any help.
Dave
Attachments:
Last edit: 26 Mar 2021 16:11 by Davemc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Mar 2021 19:54 #234049 by Roger Fairclough
Welcome to the forum.

Did you get a warranty with the car and if so, does it include the clutch? If it does your first stop is to talk to the seller.

Please come back to us with an update.

Roger

More