BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Few questions

• emu88
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
08 Sep 2015 19:09 #151542 by emu88
Few questions was created by emu88
I'm new to Jimnys and I just have a few questions related to things I just want to clarify or rectify as needed - if anyone can help that would be great.

1. When I filled up full, the fuel gauge rose reaaaaally slowly to eventually register full. Plus the needle always shows what is in the tank even with the ignition off. Normal?

2. When I do a cold start the rpms are about 1800 for a short while then drop down to normal range. When I put the fog lights on the rpms drop slightly.

3. The standard clarion CD player doesn't quite work - the issue is that there are 2 small plastic tabs sticking up inside the cd slot which I can only depress manually with a screwdriver or something similar. Then I can just about get a cd in or out. When I press eject it tries 3 times and just clicks. I assume those 2 locking tabs are stuck. Does anyone know if this is an easy enough fix or not really worth it?

4. Is the Jimny very uneconomical at very high speeds? I did 80-85mph for about an hour or more and for another hour rarely below 60 - I had a full tank at 76296 miles and half a tank at 76379 miles, so I used 20 litres over just 83 miles which is only 166 miles on a full tank = about 19mpg. What is the most economical speed range?

5. I acquired the following workshop manual, is it the correct one for a 2004 jimny jlx mode? It says 'applicable model: SN413' and is dated 1998 but printed in Jan 2002.

Thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.