BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Relocating the rear lights! How to guide

• Statey
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
30 Aug 2015 23:04 #151034 by Statey
I finally got around to having a go at this today! After recently seeing some Jimnys with cut down rear bumpers I decided I liked the look and I knew the first thing I would need to do is relocate the rear lights from the bumper to the cluster.

This is the way I did it, I'm not a mechanic just like having a go but feel free to leave any comments etc :)

Step 1
Remove the rear cluster lights (ones not in the bumper) Large Phillips screwdriver will do

Step 2
Remove all the bumper bolts. 2 in both arches, 3 between boot door and bumper, 1 under each light cluster.

Step 3
Carefully pull away he bumper and disconnect the loom.

Step 4
Remove the bumper light cluster and cut around the bulb holders (I used a little coping saw as couldn't find my dremel cutter)
Will need to make sure it's trimmed tidy after.

Step 5
In the passenger side you will need to cut a hold into the blank.

Step 6
Match up the indicators into the top holes of the clusters, make sure the widest section is fit inside the smallest hole (tried to point out below)

Step 7
Apply a little super glue to the cluster and press with the bulb in the until starts to tack. Then remove the bulb carefully and leave to dry

Step 7 repeat on the lower (stop and tail)

Step 8 using the old loom from the bumper move he wiring inside the rear of the Jimny (My rear panels are removed at the moment and this would have been a pain without them removed)
Push the old wiring through the cluster hole