BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

Cv bearings are shot

• Cutler
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Nov 2020 14:23 #230176 by Cutler
Cv bearings are shot was created by Cutler
Hi, so I’m new to the jimny world! I have a 2002 soft top 1.3 jimny I am changing the cv joint which is attached to the half shaft. Just wondering if I need to replace the whole unit or if the cv joint can be separated from the half shaft ? Thanks in advance
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Nov 2020 15:24 #230178 by Roger Fairclough
The drive shaft will be secured to the CV-joint by a circular section circlip. The normal way to dismantle the two is to hold the shaft upright and strike the lip of the CV joint with a heavy hammer. Copper is best as you wont get splinters of steel breaking off the edge of the joint. You can use a 2lb lump hammer but cover the edge of the CV with duck tape. Either way wear eye protectors.

Roger

• Cutler
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
18 Nov 2020 19:15 #230184 by Cutler
Replied by Cutler on topic Cv bearings are shot