BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

New to this - lifting Jimny and towing

• simonch
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
20 Oct 2020 13:59 #229315 by simonch
hey guys,

i’m new to this and just bought my first Jimny. i’m getting Cooper AT’s fitted to her.

i’d quite like to lift by 2”. it will act as my second car and my current 2nd car does about 1k miles a year. i’ll be using it to launch and recover a boat on sand which is on the towing limit for the car (well a couple of hundred KG below it).

my question is what springs should I use and will the car handle ok towing with a lift kit?

i like the look of the extra lift, and i like the idea of the extra clearance when launching/recovering the boat also.

cheers,

Si

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Oct 2020 15:09 - 20 Oct 2020 15:19 #229316 by Scimike
Hi and Welcome to the world of Jimny.
Cant really comment on how a lifted car will tow, but in standard form its fine. I tow about 750kg on a regular basis and Lambert tows a little more (sometimes a lot more). :woohoo: