BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - EARLY BIRD DISCOUNTED PRICE

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Re:Re:Re:Re:Jimny M13A engine knocking

• adritfe
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 Nov 2019 10:16 #215889 by adritfe
Jimny M13A engine knocking was created by adritfe
First of all, i am new at the forum and i am very confused by the loud noise that my engine is making. Id be grateful if someone can help me to found the failure. I’ve check the play in rod bearings and piston pins and camshafts in adittion to check valve clearance and everything seems right although im not an expert. Also i remove the n4 rod cap and the bearing looks perfect too. Thank you and sorry for my english.

Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• adritfe
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 Nov 2019 10:27 #215890 by adritfe
Replied by adritfe on topic Re:Jimny M13A engine knocking

• Lambert
    Registered
  • The quickest Jimny in Harrogate...(that I own)
More
23 Nov 2019 11:08 #215892 by Lambert
Welcome to the forum. That sounds a bit like the main crank pulley for the drive belts catching on a front of the block. They are a laminated rubber type and are prone to failure. From the video it doesn't sound heavy enough to be internal. That said it is very difficult to tell over the internet.

Temeraire (2018 quasar grey automatic)
One of the last 200ish of the gen3s, probably.
ADOS Attention Deficit Ooooh Shiny!

• adritfe
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 Nov 2019 13:58 #215896 by adritfe
Replied by adritfe on topic Jimny M13A engine knocking