BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Engine rebuild

• Paulig174
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
15 Dec 2016 22:16 #175702 by Paulig174
Engine rebuild was created by Paulig174
No eBay APP ID and/or Cert ID defined in Kunena configurationHi all.Im new to Bigjimny.com.I have a 99 jimny.Im rebuilding the engine after noticing water in the oil.The engine is out and I'm taking the head off tomorrow but I might try the oil pump first to see if it's mixing there.I ordered a rebuild kit from eBay and I'm worried about using it.It was very cheap.The link below is the kit I bought.Id appreciate advise. I would even bother using it if I had any doubts. Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Dec 2016 06:47 #175704 by kirkynut
Replied by kirkynut on topic Engine rebuild
You'll only have a blown head gasket, no need for a full engine rebuild!

Kirkynut

The underdog often starts the fight, and occasionally the upper dog deserves to win - Edgar Watson Howe.

My Jimny Thread Here: www.bigjimny.com/index.php/forum/8-my-ji...on-continues?start=0

• Paulig174
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
16 Dec 2016 20:35 #175717 by Paulig174
Replied by Paulig174 on topic Engine rebuild
I know but I wanted to do a rebuild anyway and plan on doing a complete restoration job in undercarriage also and modify it for off road adventuring and possibly camping through Europe! I have the engine completely stripped and all internals removed.My problem now is I don't have socket to remove the head bolts.the are star shaped bolt heads

More
17 Dec 2016 10:16 - 17 Dec 2016 10:17 #175734 by facade