BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - EARLY BIRD DISCOUNTED PRICE

Click HERE for details

× An area for non Suzuki Jimny related chat. Keep it clean etc. as this is a public forum with young readers.

Speed or not to Speed - that is the question !

• Zee Zee Top
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
15 Feb 2017 15:58 #178025 by Zee Zee Top
Recently a friend of mine got done for being over the drink drive limit. It was his own fault and knew he should not have driven, but that's another story. Whilst discussing this we drifted onto the topic of speeding. Now I am no expert and don't know the exact criteria for the following, but it got us thinking. If I am not mistaken (and I might be) if you are caught speeding a few mph over the limit and it falls within the "offence" range then you get points and a fine. If at a higher speed there is the chance that you may be offered a driving course and keep a clean licence. After the course you should be a better driver. So my question is this, get caught a little over the limit and get points or drive faster and keep a clean licence?
(This if course does not include any insurance issues).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Feb 2017 16:26 #178026 by Halford
you've got it the wrong way around

a little over the limit = option to pay and attend a retraining/awareness course with no points and no record
a bit more over the limit, then fine and points

I was done at 35mph in a 30 mph a few years back and did the course - took a day and cost me £80 I think - there were about 15 people on the course (runs 5 days a week) and it was run by the AA - good little earner like most of these things.

;)

More
15 Feb 2017 16:51 #178027 by Keithy
Did the course in 2014.....in future I'll take the points.....easier on the brain!

More
15 Feb 2017 17:09 - 15 Feb 2017 17:14 #178029 by jackonlyjack